The first children's palliative ward of the city of Kiev

“Life, whether short or long, must be lived with love, respect and, above all, without suffering. I dedicate this project to Kirill and Artem, our first little patients, and all the children whose health does not allow them to live long. "   Pascale Vayer

On the 13. September 2019, together with the dedicated staff of Caritas Spes Ukraine and the organization St Luke (Voino-Yasenetskogo) Charity Fund, sponsors, doctors and well-known representatives of politics and diplomacy, has opened the first pediatric palliative ward of the city of Kiev.

Such a facility did not exist in Kiev so far. Tiny Hearts has made possible the construction of the Pediatrics Palliative Care Unit as part of a large-scale project that took over two years to complete. Through the comprehensive renovation of premises and the purchase of special medical equipment, seriously ill children and their families can now receive the best possible medical and psychological care. The ward is embedded in the Institute of Paediatrics, Obstetrics and Neonatology. The opening of the palliative ward was preceded by a one-hour press conference. The echo in the Ukrainian media was great.

Sanin Merdzan
Sanin Merdzan, H. Stepic CEE Charity - Raiffeisenbank International
Olena Noha, Pascale Vayer
Olena Noah, Caritas-Spes, and Pascale Vayer, little hearts
Mykola Kuleba
Mykola Kuleba, Commissioner of the President of Ukraine in charge of the rights of the child
Mykola Kuleba, Dr Lyubov Slepova, Bishop Stanislav Shyrokoradiuk
Mykola Kuleba, Dr Lyubov Slepova, Director of the Institute of Pediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynecology of the National Academy of Medical Sciences of Ukraine (PAG), Bishop Stanislav Shyrokoradiuk, Caritas-Spes
Aleksandra Telyatnikova, Tetyana Kalinichenko
Aleksandra Telyatnikova, St Luke (Voino-Yasenetskogo) Charity Fund, and Tetyana Kalinichenko, Caritas-Spes

Without the Cooperation with Merck Austria, which Financial support from the Merck Family Foundationthat allowed us to get all the medical equipment, the implementation of the project would not have been possible. The project was also realized thanks to the generous donations from the association Stepic CEE Charitywho had made the renovation of the premises and the acquisition of medical cribs possible.

We also thank you Havel Healthcare and numerous sponsors from Austria and Germany for the large number of medical donations in kind.

caritas

Every human being has the right to a life of dignity - at any age and in any situation in life.

When a person's life comes to an end, two factors are at the center of this right: adequate medical treatment and the opportunity to spend hours with those whom one loves. There is no national palliative system in Ukraine - even though more than 16.000 children in Ukraine require palliative care every year.

The day after the opening, the team of little hearts and Caritas-spes bought numerous children's games and books for the palliative care unit. The eyes of our little patient Kirill have blasted with happiness:

I thank Solomea for her magnificent drawings, which she gave to the palliative ward and which now decorate the walls of the ward.

HerzOR_transp
Solomea and her mom Tetiana
Solomea and her mom Tetyana
The little heart team
The little heart team

I thank my friends, volunteers and big hearts, who help little hearts regularly, and have accompanied me on this emotional journey:
Sophia Luftensteiner, Bettina Lauß, Julia Stering, Johannes Kinzer, Bogdan Grytsiv

twonewheartsgrey

Eröffnung der kleine herzen Kinder-Palliativstation in Kiew

Die erste Kinder-Palliativstation der Stadt Kiew

“Das Leben, ob kurz oder lang, muss in Liebe, Respekt und vor allem ohne Leiden gelebt werden. Kirill und Artem, unseren ersten kleinen Patienten, und all den Kindern, deren Gesundheit es ihnen nicht erlaubt, lange zu leben, widme ich dieses Projekt.”   Pascale Vayer

Am 13. September 2019 hat kleine herzen gemeinsam mit dem engagierten Personal der Caritas Spes Ukraine und der Organisation St Luke (Voino-Yasenetskogo) Charity Fund, Sponsoren, Ärzten und namhaften Vertretern aus Politik und Diplomatie die erste Kinder-Palliativstation der Stadt Kiew eröffnet.

Eine derartige Einrichtung gab es in Kiew bislang nicht. kleine herzen hat die Errichtung der Kinder-Palliativstation im Rahmen eines groß angelegten Projekts, dessen Umsetzung sich über zwei Jahre erstreckte, ermöglicht. Durch die umfassende Renovierung von Räumlichkeiten und die Anschaffung von medizinischen Spezialgeräten können schwerkranke Kinder und ihre Familien nun die bestmögliche medizinische und psychologische Versorgung erhalten. Die Station ist ins Institut für Pädiatrie, Geburtshilfe und Neonatologie eingebettet. Der Eröffnung der Palliativstation ging eine einstündige Presskonferenz voraus. Das Echo in den ukrainischen Medien war groß.

Sanin Merdzan
Sanin Merdzan, H. Stepic CEE Charity - Raiffeisenbank International
Olena Noha, Pascale Vayer
Olena Noah, Caritas-Spes, und Pascale Vayer, kleine herzen
Mykola Kuleba
Mykola Kuleba, Kommissar des Präsidenten der Ukraine zuständig für die Rechte des Kindes
Mykola Kuleba, Dr Lyubov Slepova, Bischof Stanislav Shyrokoradiuk
Mykola Kuleba, Dr Lyubov Slepova, Direktorin des Instituts für Pädiatrie, Geburtshilfe und Gynäkologie der Nationalen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften der Ukraine (PAG), Bischof Stanislav Shyrokoradiuk, Caritas-Spes
Aleksandra Telyatnikova, Tetyana Kalinichenko
Aleksandra Telyatnikova, St Luke (Voino-Yasenetskogo) Charity Fund, und Tetyana Kalinichenko, Caritas-Spes

Ohne die Zusammenarbeit mit Merck Austria, die finanzielle Unterstützung der Merck Family Foundation, die uns ermöglicht haben alle medizinischen Geräte zu besorgen, wäre die Umsetzung des Projekts nicht möglich gewesen. Realisiert wurde das Projekt auch dank der großzügigen Spenden des Vereins Stepic CEE Charity, der die Renovierung der Räumlichkeiten und den Erwerb von medizinischen Kinderbetten ermöglicht hatte.

Wir danken auch Havel Healthcare und zahlreichen Sponsoren aus Österreich und Deutschland für die Vielzahl an medizinischen Sachspenden.

caritas

Jeder Mensch hat ein Recht auf ein Leben in Würde – in jedem Lebensalter und in jeder Lebenssituation.

Neigt sich das Leben eines Menschen dem Ende zu, stehen zwei Faktoren im Zentrum dieses Rechts: eine angemessene medizinische Behandlung und die Möglichkeit, Stunden mit jenen verbringen zu können, die man liebt. In der Ukraine gibt es kein staatliches Palliativsystem – und das, obwohl jährlich mehr als 16.000 Kinder in der Ukraine Palliativbehandlungen benötigen.

Am Tag nach der Eröffnung, hat das Team von kleine herzen und Caritas-spes zahlreiche Kinderspiele sowie Bücher für die Palliativstation gekauft. Die Augen unseres kleinen Patient Kirill haben vor Glück gestrahlt:

Ich danke Solomea für ihre großartigen Zeichnungen, die sie der Palliativstation geschenkt hat, und die jetzt die Wände der Station schmücken.

HerzOR_transp
Solomea und ihre Mama Tetiana
Solomea und ihre Mama Tetyana
Das kleine herzen Team
Das kleine herzen Team

Ich danke meinen Freunden, Freiwilligen und großen Herzen, die kleine herzen regelmäßig helfen, und mich auf dieser emotionellen Reise begleitet haben:
Sophia Luftensteiner, Bettina Lauß, Julia Stering,  Johannes Kinzer, Bogdan Grytsiv

twonewheartsgrey