An emotional journey to Ukraine - September 2021

After almost two years I was finally able to travel to Ukraine, the very first trip from heart small since the beginning of the Covid-19 pandemic.

This trip gave me the opportunity to see many children from our children's homes, our sponsored children, especially from the children's homes in Kiev, Zhytomyr, Jarmolynzy, Khmelnyzkyi and Worsel, with emotion. This meeting was unique and brought us all together on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of our Ukrainian partner Caritas-Spes.

It was two days full of games and joy.


During this short trip I visited 3 families in need by heart small the following are supported: a family with 6 children, including a severely disabled 6-year-old child; a single mother in poor health with 6 children, and Anna, who is also not healthy, her brother, her sister and her 3 year old boy.

These three families, who live in great poverty, have something in common that you can feel as soon as you walk into their respective homes: the love and care they show their children and family members.


Covid-19 in Ukraine has a serious impact on the socio-economic and health situation of the population in general, but also on the home schooling of children who are forced to attend classes online. Very few children have access to the Internet and a computer at home. This inequality will be felt for a long time to come.

Eine emotionale Reise in die Ukraine – September 2021

Nach fast zwei Jahren konnte ich endlich in die Ukraine reisen, die allererste Reise von kleine herzen seit dem Beginn der Covid-19-Pandemie.

Diese Reise gab mir die Gelegenheit, viele Kinder aus unseren Kinderheimen, unsere Patenkinder, vor allem aus den Kinderheimen in Kiew, Zhytomyr, Jarmolynzy, Chmelnyzkyi und Worsel, mit Rührung zu sehen. Dieses Treffen war einzigartig und brachte uns alle anlässlich des 25-jährigen Bestehens unseres ukrainischen Partners Caritas-Spes zusammen.

Es waren zwei Tage voller Spiele und Freude.


Während dieser kurzen Reise besuchte ich 3 bedürftige Familien, die von kleine herzen unterstützt werden: eine Familie mit 6 Kindern, darunter ein schwer behindertes 6-jähriges Kind; eine alleinstehende Mutter in schlechtem Gesundheitszustand mit 6 Kindern, und Anna, die ebenfalls nicht gesund ist, ihr Bruder, ihre Schwester und ihr 3-jähriger Junge.

Diese drei Familien, die in großer Armut leben, haben etwas gemeinsam, das man spürt, sobald man ihr jeweiliges Zuhause betritt: die Liebe und Fürsorge, die sie ihren Kindern und Familienmitgliedern entgegenbringen.


Covid-19 in der Ukraine hat ernsthafte Auswirkungen auf die sozioökonomische und gesundheitliche Situation der Bevölkerung im Allgemeinen, aber auch auf die häusliche Schulbildung von Kindern, die gezwungen sind, online am Unterricht teilzunehmen. Nur sehr wenige Kinder haben zu Hause Zugang zum Internet und einen Computer. Diese Ungleichheit wird noch lange Zeit zu spüren sein.